future of the Old Lighthouse, one of Connecticut’s most iconic structures and
the nation’s first museum-lighthouse, will be the subject of an informational
meeting sponsored by the Stonington Historical Society on Tuesday, October 1 at
6:30 pm, at the Woolworth Library & Research Center, 40 Palmer Street,
Stonington. This is the third program focusing on the restoration of the
Lighthouse, showing the latest schematic plans under consideration. The program
is open to all. Public input is being sought.
Architects Matthew Oudens and Conrad Ello will be on hand to show various options to restore the 1840 structure and to make the museum universally accessible. Oudens Ello Architecture of Boston has been working with the Historical Society for over a year to come up with alternatives for bringing the museum into the 21st century without compromising its charm or historical integrity. The project was the recent recipient of a $20,000 technical assistance grant from the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation.
The Old Lighthouse on Water Street was acquired by the Historical Society in 1925, and it has not undergone a major restoration since that time. Now the oldest lighthouse museum in the nation, it is currently undergoing historic preservation assessment.
The Stonington Historical Society,
Inc., founded in 1895, seeks to preserve, interpret and celebrate the history
of Stonington. In addition to presenting programs and exhibits, the Society
maintains three sites open to the public: the Old Lighthouse Museum; the
Captain Nathaniel B. Palmer House, a National Historic Landmark and the home of
the discoverer of Antarctica; and the Richard W. Woolworth Library, a research
archive of local history. For more information on these sites and the Society's
programs, exhibits, and collections, visit the Society's web site,
http://www/stoningtonhistory.org, or call the Society at 860-535-8445.